Shine on!

I actually prayed today for the sun to shine brightly, in spite of the clouds, just from 1:00 to 1:30 please! 🙂 I intended to teach the 5-7th grades about adding depth to our drawings with shading, and you need to be aware of light and shadow to do that. I had them pair up and each took a sidewalk chalk out in the thankfully sunny afternoon. They each took a turn drawing their buddy’s shadow, then switched off. They compared the shadow outlines to the actual students. They got a lot of laughs out of those short, squat shadows! We practiced hatching, crosshatching, and shading a sphere with a shadow. Most will need a lot more practice, but it was a good start.

I introduced 3rd-4th grade to some of the same concepts, lite, and they actually finished their still lifes. Then we started the printing part of our Mondrian-style abstracts. I wish I could find a way to keep them from pressing too hard, but they will still look good. Next week we add our primaries, and I’ll post our colorful abstracts at Artsonia! I also had most of the class wishing they could draw the pumpkin I brough for my demonstrations, so he’ll return!

Leave a comment

Filed under Teaching

Share your thoughts.

