Art for Me

I finally had some time to paint for fun. I have fun painting kid art, too, but it’s not the same. Interestingly, though, both pieces I worked on this weekend sprang from models I originally created for lessons.

The koi for the kids was so quick and simple, I had to see what I could do with it. This is just what I have done so far with the transparent color. It was also my first time to really work with the masking fluid, and I find it awkward and bulky. I see I will really need to play with it a lot before I can control it to accomplish what I REALLY envision. This koi needs better proportions: his nose is too pointy and his fins are a little too far forward. Otherwise, I think he turned out pretty well. I think I have given him all the depth my limited knowledge will afford. My next step is to see if I can add some maple leaves, either overhanging, or fallen onto the water, and for those I will use my gouache to contrast with the transparency of the water. I don’t know when I’ll have time for that, but I hope it isn’t weeks!

The pumpkin was inspired by an Artsonia student project, and I have changed my schedule to include it! I only hope I can make it accessible to 3rd and 4th graders, because they were the only older class with an interchangeable project. Besides, they ASKED to do my pumpkin!

batik pumpkin

3 Comments

Filed under Art

3 responses to “Art for Me

  1. Robynmama

    Really lovely… how did you do the resist for the batik? Also, have you ever used dry salt, sprinkled on wet painted paper? I love that. :oP

    • 4pam

      LOL! It has been so long since I had a comment, I replied by commenting to myself instead of replying to yours! It was almost a laugh out loud moment for me.

  2. 4pam

    Hey Robyn!! Neat to see you here. The resist is sooo easy; it’s just glue. Draw with a thick line of glue and let it dry, and it will mostly contain the watercolor. I should post a photo of the model for the kids’ project, which follows up with an outline of Sharpie not only on the glue lines, but surrounding the changes in value in the watercolor. I like the plain batik, but the family gives a thumbs-up to the Sharpie version.

    I love playing with salt, too. The salamander project the kindergartners did used salt to make his spots. We used kosher, but I was thinking rock salt would be fun.

Share your thoughts.

