Give Thanks to the Lord

Today I led fifth and sixth grades to count their blessings through this project:

Thankful Words Turkey

After a discussion of ways we can change value without actually changing color, I gave them a turkey template to work from. They had several Bible verses to choose from to create their turkey body, and then were to brainstorm things for which they were thankful, and those were to become the feathers. Some students got the concept of using letters to create shape and value more than others, but I think everyone benefitted from having to list so many things they could be thankful for.

I like their turkeys, but in this case, I really like MY turkey. I loved meditating on these verses and filling his tail feathers with gratefulness. It really made want to make another, different one! I am truly blessed. My husband and children love me. In fact, my husband is still IN love with me. That alone is  HUGE. I have a beloved friend who understands me and is often only a phone call away for a chat. My church is a true Bible-believing church that rests on prayer. My pastor and his wife are people I deeply admire and respect. I get to help shepherd some amazing young adults in Sunday School. My son attends a school where the adults PRAY for him, regularly. As challenging as he is, I believe they still care for him. And wonder of wonders, I not only am allowed to teach at this same school, they actually pay me for it! And amazingly, parents seem to be pleased with what I do with the kids. And I get hugs! I shepherd a group of inspiring older women in Bible Study Fellowship. And my car is SO CUTE and got its dents fixed, so it’s all new again. And it still isn’t too cold up here! I am just overflowing with things to thank God for, but my favorite is this passage from Isaiah that we studied this past week:

“Give thanks to the Lord, call on His name; make known among the nations what He has done, and proclaim that His name is exalted. Sing to the Lord, for He has done glorious things; let this be known to all the world. Shout aloud and sing for joy, people of Zion, for great is the Holy One of Israel among you!”  Isaiah 12:4-6

1 Comment

Filed under Art, faith, Fifth/Sixth Grade, Teaching

One response to “Give Thanks to the Lord

  1. DH

    Your DH is still IN love with you because you are so lovable and cute (just like your car). 😉

Share your thoughts.

