Deep Thinking

I ran across this quote of Edgar Degas: “Art is not what you see, but what you make others see.”  Wow. I know when I find art I love, because I can’t stop looking. I am always amazed at how the artist helps me see! I only wish I had the sort of vision that could enable others to see something new or in a new way, and in a way that lifts their thoughts or feelings.

I saw a Jamie Wyeth painting that just grabbed me. I hated to leave it, but I thought maybe I could find a print or postcard of it for myself. So sad! No such luck. I don’t even know the name of the artwork, but the central figure was very similar to his furnace painting with all the seagulls. This was set in a woods, though, on a high hill, with a bay filled with little yachts in the background. It was mesmerizing!

My son’s girlfriend is an artist, too, and she did some paintings of some canyon landscape that are compelling. I just wonder, how do they see things like that? It’s amazing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art

Share your thoughts.

