Laurel Burch Decisions

I really thought long on how to do our Laurel Burch-style cats. I wanted vibrant colors and patterns like hers, but I need the kids to be successful without making a mess of their work. I tried a cat in chalk pastel, with oil pastel details, on black paper.

chalk pastels

 

Then I tried oil pastels on white paper, glued to black paper decorated with chalk pastels, outlined in silver sharpie. I think white oil pastel may sub for the silver. I just don’t have that many. Definitely, I prefer this.

oil pastel

 

I can get luminescence from the chalk, but not vibrancy. Now I just need to put my Powerpoint together!

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Fifth/Sixth Grade, Seventh/Eighth Grade, Teaching, Third/Fourth Grade

Share your thoughts.

