Homeschooling in France

I apologize for my scarcity. I have several posts I would like to blog, but I’ve struggled with making the time. You see, I may not have a work visa like my husband, but I am still working; I am homeschooling my teenage son. Yes, this is pretty much a full-time job, and we have added to it my little French classes at the marie, and a church retreat last weekend. So my apologies, but I will probably be a little erratic.

Our homeschool nook, which hosts current school curriculum and my son’s crib blanket. Hey, some things you just don’t let go of.

I am not new to homeschooling. Most of my children have been homeschooled some or most of their school careers, although I haven’t done so for four years. I am comfortable, confident, and know from my older kids that our curriculum choices work. I also use an umbrella for administration from junior high and up, so my son is under an umbrella here. We are studying world history, and I have some pretty awesome hands-on field trips planned to places world history actually happened.

Our first will be at the end of this month, to a spot in Spain where the first Greek settlement of Gaul was founded, then built over by a Roman garrison, followed eventually by a medieval Catalan city. You can find a virtual visit here, but the day we go will also have a Roman re-enactor to bring the Roman landing alive. The fact that some great tourist beaches are also near has not gone unnoticed. I love teaching world history!

Ancient Egypt come to life, soon to be recorded in Power Point. By the way, NOT a fan of French glue. The stick glue is American, and not great either. They don’t like you flying with bottles of glue.

There are, of course, special hoops to jump through in a foreign country. I have submitted my letter of intent, as required by law. Today I got a phone call (they were able to scrounge up a sort of English speaker) asking for clarification of Theo’s birthday. I was told to expect a letter from the department of education, as his education would need to be “controlled.” I am confident this is a translation issue, and they mean something more like monitored, because most homeschoolers here I’ve talked to haven’t had too much trouble. I am definitely praying for favor in the eyes of the inspector, though!

Next year, after touring Europe through the eyes of history, we’ll enroll our son in the International School here, but until then, I am grateful for a year of discovery together!

1 Comment

Filed under Education, family

One response to “Homeschooling in France

  1. Your son is so lucky to have a mom like you! Good luck with your year of discovery—he (and you) will learn so much more than what is possible in a traditional classroom.

Share your thoughts.

