A Little Bit of Mexico, Sort of

Good TexMex is hard to find in the United States outside of Texas. In fact, good Mexican food can be a rare jewel in any state north or east of those bordering Mexico itself. The further north you go, the blander it often becomes, and the further east, the more Cuban its influences (which isn’t necessarily bad, just not Mexican).

Now imagine the needle in the proverbial haystack Mexican food of any stripe becomes in Europe. (And no, Spanish food and Mexican food are barely related, so not the same at all). If you find an eating establishment professing Mexican ethnic cuisine, you go out of your way to give it a try.

Welcome to Vaquero!! This little surprise is tucked back in the ville of Colomiers.

Bienvenidos, amigos! At least the decor is familiar.

Bienvenidos, amigos! At least the decor is familiar.

It looked like a Mexican restaurant. That was nice. It runs on French hours, though, so it didn’t open until 7:30, and we were among the first people in the restaurant. I think it will prove to fill up once the French dinner hour really gets under way.

The food tasted kind of Mexican and cumin-y, and kind of French. Considering how everything even I cook at home, when using all French ingredients, also tastes a little French, this should not be surprising. It was also kind of spicy. See a trend here?

Not a great picture in the lowlight, but the overflowing stuffing in the taco is not to be missed.

Not a great picture in the lowlight, but the overflowing stuffing in the taco is not to be missed.

My son was not impressed with the tacos. The beef was mixed with corn and black beans, and was sort of sweet and thick. He called them meatloaf tacos. No denying they had a sort of Mexicany flavor, though.

Yes, I always mix my refried beans into my rice. No, I'm not weird. Not very, anyway.

Yes, I always mix my refried beans into my rice. No, I’m not weird. Not very, anyway.

My own plate was a quesadilla, with mushrooms. I liked it; it was pretty good, although kind of French (they love them some mushrooms). The refried beans were the black bean variety.

So easy to be a salsa hog here.

So easy to be a salsa hog here. If you can’t find the tiny bowl of salsa, no need for a magnifying glass, just click on the photo to see it larger.

See the little bowl of salsa beside Stoney’s “enchilada”? Folks, it was good salsa. It was also the salsa for the WHOLE TABLE. Yes, you read that right, accompanied by a similarly scaled bowl of flour tortilla chips. The salsa was the best, most Mexican food in the whole meal, and this is how much we get? If I cry, will it come in a larger portion?

All in all, I would be happy to go back and try something else. I am thinking the fish of the day will probably be pretty good. Not TexMex, but when you’re this far from home, getting even this close feels good!

1 Comment

Filed under France

One response to “A Little Bit of Mexico, Sort of

  1. Kris

    At least you found a wee bit of a taste of home. P.S. I mix my rice and beans too. 🙂

Share your thoughts.

