Shout It From the Rooftops!

That Jesus Christ is Lord!

At least, that is what I thought at the end of our elevator ride in the Barcelona Cathedral. Right after I heaved a sigh of relief for making it up unhurt, seeing as how the little box was stuffed quite full and actually heaved twice on its trip. Meet our view upon exiting the mysterious elevator (with a reminder that many photos enlarge for detail if you click on them):

ta-da!! That's right, the elevator spits you out right on the roof. This is the spire of the cathedral, at eye level.

ta-da!! That’s right, the elevator spits you out right on the roof. This is the spire of the cathedral, at eye level.

I am sure the bumpy elevator and shaky, bouncy catwalks are meant to grow the Believer’s faith in the Good Shepherd amid the inspiring points heavenward.

Note the flimsy walkway. I am not sure I actually breathed while walking up here, and definitely did NOT linger. Call me wimpy if you want.

Note the flimsy walkway. I am not sure I actually breathed while walking up here, and definitely did NOT linger. Call me wimpy if you want.

The view of the city really was amazing, though. It was a little Mary Poppins-ish (in the scene with Dick Van Dyke on the rooftops?) if Mary Poppins had been Catalonian instead of English.

over the rooftops

over the rooftops

and the other way

and the other way

And that is all of the cathedral I’ll share. I do try to edit, honestly. Unfortunately, there is still a ton of Barcelona left, even if I only walk you through half of what we saw and experienced, so I have a few more Barcelona posts to go. I’ll get back to France though, honest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art

Share your thoughts.

