Wrapping up Barcelona

For my final post (of 6? NO, NINE!) on Barcelona, I’ll just leave you with a sampling. Don’t forget to click for bigger photos.

Stoney and the girls browsing an antiques street-marche.

Stoney and the girls browsing an antiques street-marche.

Katie, my former barista, in front of one of the MANY Barcelona Starbucks. We don't have these in Toulouse, or southern France at all, and so we were daily visitors here.

Katie, my former barista, in front of one of the MANY Barcelona Starbucks. We don’t have these in Toulouse, or southern France at all, and so we were daily visitors here.

We found it odd that a sidewalk tent-shop would be selling birds in the cold winter. They sold EVERYTHING in the sidewalk tent shops.

We found it odd that a sidewalk tent-shop would be selling birds in the cold winter. They sold EVERYTHING in the sidewalk tent shops.

Just like in Toulouse, there were a ton of street performers, and after these guys finished playing their piano and saxophone, they pushed it where ever it came from. I definitely wondered as they past me at the 3 Cats.

Just like in Toulouse, there were a ton of street performers, and after these guys finished playing their piano and guitar, they pushed it  back where ever it came from. I definitely wondered as they passed me at the 4 Cats.

We ate plenty and it was all really, really good. Frankly, I prefer Catalonian cooking.

Barcelona knew how to make nachos right!

Barcelona knew how to make nachos right!

Some tapas selected by the kids.

Some tapas selected by the kids.

Fish eaten a 15 minute WALK from the Mediterannean Sea.

Fish eaten a 15 minute WALK from the Mediterannean Sea.

Fresh-baked waffles with gourmand toppings.

Fresh-baked waffles with gourmand toppings.

And of course the interesting architecture…

Lots of color

Lots of color

The outside of a performance hall...

The outside of a performance hall…

...and the inside.

…and the inside.

eyecatching

eyecatching

This "stop-you-in-your-tracks" building is a bank, but began as an umbrella shop.

This “stop-you-in-your-tracks” building is a bank, but began as an umbrella shop. The oriental details are incongrous, but…

but it's the dragon the giant umbrella hangs from that draws the double-take.

but it’s the dragon the giant umbrella hangs from that draws the double-take.

Well, I won’t linger in Barcelona any longer (unless I add the public fountains later), but if you ever go or have gone to this remarkable city, I would love to know what you think of my finds, and what really captured your attention or your heart in Barcelona.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Travel

2 responses to “Wrapping up Barcelona

  1. Scott Long

    Love it Pam. I so enjoy these posts. Your family looks ageless.

    • 4pam

      Thank you, Scott! I am glad you enjoy it. But ageless? You must mean Stoney, pretty much. Someday we should get together with masks made from yearbook photos and then we really COULD feel ageless! And as much as I try to keep the kids from growing older, I seem to be failing. But please do keep telling me we are ageless, and I will do my best to act it! Feel free to join me. 😉

Share your thoughts.

