In the Center of Good Times

Toulouse is wonderfully located. We are a couple of hours from Meditteranean beaches. Old forests are within a half hour, if not closer. White water rafting is a couple of hours north. And south? The Pyrenees, and in the winter, snow. This year, lots of snow. And Toulousains do love their skiing, so we thought we’d give it a try.

Theo gearing up for his first ever time on the slopes.

Theo gearing up for his first ever time on the slopes.

What we didn’t realize was what an incredible gorgeous, mild day this Saturday would be, and its subsequent effect on Toulousains. It was like a magnet drawing them to this very family-friendly ski station. There were so many people when we got there, and they just never stopped coming! We now know that one really must have a reservation for the ski schools; by 10 am they were pretty much booked up. But Stoney had skiied before–he could teach us!

I would be showing you a photo of me skiing now, only there isn’t one. Theo and Stoney skiied, but I literally couldn’t get my skiis under me. As soon as I got locked in, they shot out from under me. There was no pulling me up, either. I had worried I wouldn’t be able to control the skis, but I never envisioned not being able to stand on them at all.

Still, the views were gorgeous. And the people were really fun to watch.

Looking out over the bebe slope, which even had a moving sidewalk thing so you could take up a young child in a sled, among other things.

Looking out over the bebe slope, which even had a moving sidewalk thing so you could take up a young child in a sled, among other things.

The sun was so warm I shed my coat and sat on a snowbank, and was considerably more comfortable. And personally, I’m good with never wearing ski boots again. They made ice skates seem cosy. Ugh. I have been wondering if a little showshoeing might be more my style? I don’t really enjoy wind whipping through my hair anyway.

The view from the bottom of the slopes of Le Mourtis.

The view from the bottom of the slopes of Le Mourtis.

This ville is on the way to the ski station, and coming through in the morning, was overflowing with a marché that I wish we could have visited! Coming back through, you can see our mountain through the streets. There is actually more visible above the buildings on the right, but my camera bleached it out. Ah, well.

I wish I had noted this ville's name.

I wish I had noted this ville’s name.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under France

Share your thoughts.

