The Basilica di Santa Maria Novella

The first great basilica in Florence was Santa Maria Novella. It was finished in the 1300s. We visited this our last day, and it was inspiring. And just another reminder, that many of the photos I post can be clicked on to open individually, allowing you to click again to enlarge parts. This is how I found the paintings of the apostles and saints in each small arch above the entrance at the Byzantine church in my previous post. It’s like a “Where’s Waldo” for architecture!

The front of the basilica. The back is apparently what you see from the train station.

The front of the basilica. The back is apparently what you see from the train station.

These churches all seem to have a courtyard of some sort. I think they are beautiful.

These churches all seem to have a courtyard of some sort. I think they are beautiful.

The Italian courtyards have design elements as intricate as any inside the building. The window beside Stoney lead to the Spanish Chapel.

The Italian courtyards have design elements as intricate as any inside the building. The window beside Stoney lead to the Spanish Chapel.

A close-up of the columns.

A close-up of the columns.

The frescoes in this section are quite damaged; to be expected, I guess, in an area exposed to the elements.

The frescoes in this section are quite damaged; to be expected, I guess, in an area exposed to the elements.

The Spanish chapel was floor to ceiling art, frescoed by Andrea di Bonaiuto.

The chapel floor.

The chapel floor.

A chapel wall.

A chapel wall.

The chapel ceiling.

The chapel ceiling.

I really enjoyed the chapel frescoes.

I really enjoyed the chapel frescoes.

The basilica itself…

This golden crucifix was suspended in the middle of the basilica.

This golden crucifix was suspended in the middle of the basilica.

Amazing. An image to carry with you. By Masaccio.

Amazing. An image to carry with you. By Masaccio.

And I leave you with an explosion of color in glass. My favorite place that I visited in Florence!

And I leave you with an explosion of color in glass. My favorite place that I visited in Florence!

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Travel

Share your thoughts.

