Venice: My Pleasant Surprise

My preconceptions of Venice:

* narrow, dirty lanes

* stinky canals

* plazas filled with aggressive, obnoxious hawkers of tourist junk

* overrun with elbow-to-elbow tourists

* crazy expensive

My experience of Venice:

*ENCHANTING*

The charm of Venice.

The charm of Venice.

The narrow lanes weren’t shared by any vehicles, and April was not especially overrun with tourists, so it didn’t feel nearly as crowded as Florence. And it was pretty clean. There was a hint of river-smell, but not too bad, although I could imagine that July and August could be pretty stinky. There were some hawkers of strange touristy things and tours of Murano and such, but the ones in Florence were worse. It was pretty expensive, though; not terribly much more than Florence. Kind of like going to Disney, maybe.

Our hotel was more expensive than Florence, and you couldn’t find a level surface with a drunken surveyor, but we were ON the island (probably not particular unmoving over hundreds of years) and a short walk to a main street, and only slightly longer to the boat docks for the island excursions. The location was quiet, and the hotel family friendly, with tasty breakfasts that had actual HAM and cheese. That is really unusual for a continental breakfast B & B. The room was not only large, but the bathroom was large, and the whole suite was down its own hallway with locking door. The convenience factor was a real plus after Florence! The hotel was the B&B Al Palazzetto.

Our surprisingly large room slept our son on the daybed, but there was also a roll-away behind the door and room to use it.

Our surprisingly large room slept our son on the daybed, but there was also a roll-away behind the door and room to use it.

The view from the bridge at the corner of our hotel.

The view from the bridge at the corner of our hotel.

The lighting actually seemed magical at times. Of course, just like in Florence, we had some overcast time and some rainy time, but when the sun shone, the city glowed.

Plenty of people in the streets, yet I rarely felt overcrowded apart from lanes right outside St. Marks' Plaza.

Plenty of people in the streets, yet I rarely felt overcrowded apart from lanes right outside St. Marks’ Plaza.

This was my favorite bridge that I came across, but there were a LOT to choose from !

This was my favorite bridge that I came across, but there were a LOT to choose from !

Cool details lie around every corner, just waiting to be discovered.

Cool details lie around every corner, just waiting to be discovered.

I have a ton of photos, but I’m not sure how I want to organize all this. I’ll try to separate out the island of Murano, but other than that? So keep in touch for more scenes from Venice! 

4 Comments

Filed under Travel

4 responses to “Venice: My Pleasant Surprise

  1. Kris

    Sounds lovely! 🙂

  2. Bonnie Dakan

    Your hotel room reminds me of ours when we were there -28 years ago!! We hung our laundry off the chandelier over the bed!! You are having such a wonderful adventure – can’t wait to see you and hear all about it – when you come home to the states!

    • 4pam

      Twenty-eight years isn’t all that long in the life of Venice, I guess. And I DO have several shots of laundry on lines outside the buildings: positively iconic! I am so very thankful to God for our adventure, and a much, much expanded view of the people He created. I look forward to sharing, too!

Share your thoughts.

