Iconic Venice: Bridges and Canals

This post, let’s take a tour of what makes Venice, Venice. I have photos of St. Mark’s Square for a later post, and the interesting details found all over the island, but after all, without the canals and bridges, Venice is just another Italian port city. (Well, OK, probably not, since it was the hub of trade between east and west for centuries, but I don’t claim to be an expert!)

You’ve already seen two of the bridges that caught my eye in my last post, but the most famous Venetian bridge is the Rialto. It is lined with shops for your canal-crossing shopping convenience; however, here I have to say I prefer the Ponte Veccio in Florence. The Rialto is not only smaller, it’s just not as lovely. It does seem more affordable, though.

The Pont Rialto, surrounded by tourist kitsch.

The Pont Rialto, surrounded by tourist kitsch.

Metal bridges like these are more rare. Isn't that light extraordinary? I am no photographer, but even I could capture some of the magic of this light!

Metal bridges like these are more rare. Isn’t that light extraordinary? I am no photographer, but even I could capture some of the magic of this light!

One thing you can be sure of in Venice: climbing stairs. The bridges are omnipresent, and give you glimpses of colorful, helter skelter worlds just around curves and corners. They raise your perspective. You climb up, watching your feet, one hand on a stone rail, and then you look up and left or right and stop, involuntarily. The sight literally arrests you. Every bridge seems to become an invitation to a panorama view, where you turn and gaze and drink it in.

The bridges here come in all shapes and sizes.

The bridges here come in all shapes and sizes.

The view from up here is wondrous.

The view from up here is wondrous.

Some perspectives are up close and personal.

Some perspectives are up close and personal.

Some bridges were covered in these…

This is a REALLY bad practice. These are supposed to represent the committment of two lovers, but mostly they just corrode these antique ironworks and ruin the bridges. Don't do it!

This is a REALLY bad practice. These are supposed to represent the commitment of two lovers, but mostly they just corrode these antique ironworks and ruin the bridges. Don’t do it!

Calling me to come explore!

Calling me to come explore!

Venice is just as magical at night!

Venice is just as magical at night! Bad photo, but I couldn’t resist sharing all the sparkle.

So, does it show that I enjoyed Venice a little more than Florence? I love it when I surprise myself. I am also gathering up posts about eating in Venice, and finding the details in Venice, not to mention St. Mark’s Square. And the island of Murano will blow your mind! Or it did for me, anyway. So family and friends, just know that even though you couldn’t join me, I thought of you all constantly, and have looked forward to sharing with you virtually what I wished I could have experienced with you in reality!

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Iconic Venice: Bridges and Canals

  1. Anne Noelle Bailly

    Greaaaaaaaaat pics!!! Love them!

Share your thoughts.

