Italian Doorways and Knockers

I was fascinated with the doors in Florence and Venice. The knobs and knockers were often ornate. The lentils were often carved. They were just beautiful. Enjoy my favorites, and as always, you can click, and click again, to see details up close.

Lovely door!

Lovely door in Florence!

I think the shadows are really interesting here. Florence

I think the shadows are really interesting here. (Florence)

A lion in Florence (there were lots of those).

A lion in Florence (there were lots of those).

A Florentian fish.

A Florentian fish pair.

Mermaids! Oh yeah! (Florence)

Mermaids! Oh yeah! (Florence)

I don't think I would want a satyr "welcoming" my guests. (Florence)

I don’t think I would want a satyr “welcoming” my guests. (Florence)

A door on Murano.

A door on Murano.

This may be my favorite door! (Venice)

This may be my favorite double door! (Venice)

A crab! Perfect for an island. (venice)

This one is just weird! I thought at first it was a crab for all the legs, but now I don’t know what it is. (Venice)

I love all the textures and warm colors. (Venice)

I love all the textures and warm colors. (Venice)

It took me a long time to figure out what these random wall pieces were: they cover supporting rods that run through buildings to help correct shifting at the foundation.

It took me a long time to figure out what these random wall pieces were: they cover supporting rods that run through buildings to help correct shifting at the foundation.

And all these posts encompass  my favorite things in Italy. It took awhile to share it, but I really enjoyed our week-long visit, especially in Venice.

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Travel

One response to “Italian Doorways and Knockers

  1. Boy my front door looks pretty generic and boring now. 🙂

Share your thoughts.

