Lake Brienz: Trekking to a Waterfall

Switzerland has lots of waterfalls. It stands to reason, right? I wanted to visit one, and the nearest was accessible by either car or boat. Well, technically you could hike or bike there as well, but that would be all day and more athletic than I have EVER been, so really, no. And Stoney is not a fan of water transport, tolerant as he was in Venice. So car it was. However, let me just say that driving around the bottom tip of this lake and up to the parking for this waterfall was considerably more “adventurous” than any boat ride. The road was steep, hairpin riddled, and in places truly not wide enough for oncoming cars to pass. Shuttle buses came up this road! Seriously?

Anyway, we arrived to this scenery.

This is what I came for! The large chair is an unnecessary photo prop, though, as you will see.

This is what I came for! The large chair is an unnecessary photo prop, though, as you will see.

Come join me on our tour! And fair warning…this is a bit of a photo-bombing. I am not sharing half what I have, but it is so gorgeous I can’t help myself.

Follow Stoney!

Follow Stoney!

Through the woods...

Through the woods…

...to the falls!

…to the falls!

Theo to the left.

Theo to the left.

From the lower bridge.

From the lower bridge.

This is what I see from the lower bridge when I turn around and look down.

This is what I see from the lower bridge when I turn around and look down.

A higher bridge goes behind the waterfall.

A higher bridge goes behind the waterfall.

Can you see the rainbow? Or the cute guy across the waterfall?

Can you see the rainbow? Or the cute guy across the waterfall?

From under the bridge, you can see the very ritzy hotel that lies along this waterfall.

From the bridge under the falls, you can see the very ritzy hotel that lies along this waterfall.

So we turn to head back and visit the hotel. Some sights along the way…

Brz.wfall.rocksnhotel

Brz.wfall.rootcarve

Theo is thirsty and...chilly? Only this child. Always.

Theo is thirsty and…chilly? Only this child. Always.

Almost there!

Almost there!

From the hotel, the falls are more stream than fall, although they still have one of those little mountain trains to bring folks up from the lake.

From the hotel, the falls are more stream than fall, although they still have one of those little mountain trains to bring folks up from the lake.

The view of the lake from the hotel is very sweet. This color, in person, is shockingly torquoise. The air is usually hazy to some degree all through the valley. This is definitely one of the clearest shots I have. And the reflective quality of this water compared to most other lakes I have visited is strangely minimal. I don’t know if it is the haze, the shimmer of the water, or the density of the mineral content, but this is the most reflective photo I have. The lakes absolutely mesmerized me.

Apologies for the camera interference.

Apologies for the camera interference.

We picnicked before returning. It had been a very satisfying morning, and completely free.

Found while returning to the parking lot.

Found while returning to the parking lot.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Share your thoughts.

