Better luck with French food

The last of our summer 2013 events included two of the better meals I have had in France. And yes, I DO have trouble finding meals I really enjoy here. In fact, Stoney eats a French lunch with his Airbus counterparts many Wednesdays, and some of the stories he comes home with me just give me the willies. The French eat EVERYthing, in three courses with an aperitif and finished off with an espresso. Once he sent a photo of a lunch because it had to be seen to be believed…there were just too many cephalopod arms on the plate.

I did have two meals this summer that I can honestly recommend, though. One was in the enchanting ville of Rocamadour. We didn’t have long to explore, as we were on our way to the grotto and caves nearby (le gouffre de Padirac whose site you should seriously check out), but we did have lunch.

Rocamadore. Stoney and I hope to return and explore it further.

Rocamadour. Stoney and I hope to return and explore it further.

We ate at a hotel cafe, and the guys opted for pizza, thinking that was likely safe. It was pretty good.

The view was of the old town, and the weather was perfect for patio dining!

The view was of the old town, and the weather was perfect for patio dining!

I have good luck at picking well from menus, though, and this time had elected a heavenly chicken kabob. It was really good!

Eat your hearts out, guys! Yummy!

Eat your hearts out, guys! Yummy!

We also decided to brave another Toulousain attempt at a Mexican food restaurant, this time with better success. I’m not saying it tastes like TexMex, but Texxas Cafe definitely had Mexican cuisine with recognizably Mexican flavors. We have been told by some colleagues of Stoney’s to avoid barbecue night, but I can recommend the Mexican.

Stoney always looks too serious about his food; it wasn't too bad. (My tacos al carbon were better!)

Stoney had fajitas. (My tacos al carbon were better!)

Theo wasn’t willing to risk the Mexican fare and, seeing that authentic Red’s Buffalo Sauce was on the table (a rare but not impossible find), he opted for French Buffalo wings. These are invariably just dry seasoned fried chicken wings, rarely very flavored, much less spicy. Theo emptied half the bottle on his basket of wings. A little embarrassing, actually.

juicy wings

juicy wings and an antagonistic model

So, our luck is improving. If you have any great but not too expensive restaurant suggestions, I’m taking notes! Let me know in the comments.

Leave a comment

Filed under France

Share your thoughts.

