All Aboard for the Fall Garden! remembering a lovely season

My last post was in October, of activities in late August, so there is no doubt that I am way behind. But I have been having a lovely and busier time here in France, and posting isn’t that high a priority, I’m afraid. When my French class at the marie started again, I was pleased to be moved up to an intermediate group! I know I have made progress, but sometimes the elephant of a foreign language still looms so huge that I can lose sight of how many bites I’ve swallowed so far.

One of our early activities was a field trip, right before the first vacance scolaire, to the Jardin des Martels. We took a bus to a city where we picked up a little narrow-gauge train to the gardens. But first we enjoyed a stoll around town and a picnic.

A walk in the woods on the way to the river.

A walk in the woods on the way to the river.

Our reward at the end. I don't know the name of this river, though.

Our reward at the end. I don’t know the name of this river, though.

The city had lovely character.

This is an old community laundry. I'm not sure what I think of luandry as a social activity.

This is an old community laundry. I’m not sure what I think of laundry as a social activity.

Perhaps the city's patron saint?

Perhaps the city’s patron saint?

The ville was out in the country, really, since you didn’t have to go far for farmland. Check it out here:

This track later carried us to the gardens.

This track later carried us to the gardens.

Those clouds later cleared away, thankfully!

Those clouds eventually cleared away, thankfully!

Our picnic in a parc a bit down from the train station was quite lovely, but one group really did it up right! Tablecloth, home-baked cake, bottles of wine…

No roughing it for this group: Americans, Brits and Germans a table.

No roughing it for this group: Americans, Brits and Germans working together for a better picnic.

After lunch we boarded the train, with a short stop at the train museum.

The sun is coming out!

The sun is coming out!

My teacher from last year, photographing the Sunday train.

My teacher from last year, photographing the Sunday train.

This two-seater bike is used to tow the trains out of their garage. Hard to believe, eh?

This two-seater bike is used to tow the trains out of their garage. Hard to believe, eh?

These are narrow gauge trains, and still run.

These are narrow gauge trains, and still run.

Our class, all levels, who can give up most of a day.

Our class, all levels, who can give up most of a day.

Little red, our ride.

Little red, our ride.

I followed, gererally, the big picture of what the guide said; but afterward as he was going around answering questions, he caught on to the Anglophones in the group, and answered our questions in English. Quite well, too! All these polyglots really put us to shame!

Next post, the garden itself.

Leave a comment

Filed under France

Share your thoughts.

