Paris: the Day of the Louvre

Our first day, having left Theo surfing the net on his iPhone in the hotel room with meds at hand, we began (via metro) at the Arc de Triomphe. We saw it from across the street, where plenty of people were congregating, yet saw no way across the exceedingly busy round about. We did see people darting across the round about, and opted to view from afar. We later found there is an underground access, for future reference.

The Arc de Triomphe...bigger than I thought.

The Arc de Triomphe…bigger than I thought.

Thus begins a very broad, very long road to the Seine, the Champs-Élysée. On it we passed a store my younger daughter would have enjoyed visiting.

Louis-Vuitton. The Sun King would have shopped here, I'm sure.

Louis-Vuitton. The Sun King would have shopped here, I’m sure.

We passed through many Christmas shop stands and landmarks, re-entering the metro at the Jardin des Tuilleries, after the Egyptian obelisk.

I can't even remember what this post is.

I can’t even remember what this post is, but I liked it.

Christmas comes with roasted chestnuts.

Christmas comes with roasted chestnuts.

A close up of that roof.

A close up of that roof.

Coming up on the garden...

Coming up on the garden…

And the Egyptian obelisk...actually brought from Luxor.

And the Egyptian obelisk…actually brought from Luxor.

With Egyptian writing.

With Egyptian writing.

And from here we began our day at the Louvre. Click on through to join us…

Yet another art museum for my collection....definitely my favorite hobby!

Yet another art museum for my collection….definitely my favorite hobby!

Myriah in front of an ancient lion.

Myriah in front of an ancient lion.

The building is something of a maze. We did get a little lost more than once.

The building is something of a maze. We did get a little lost more than once.

Some other old cat.

Some other old cat.

Ancient Greek pottery.

Ancient Greek pottery.

Myriah really like the old stuff. Like the Rosetta Stone.

Myriah really like the old stuff. Like the Rosetta Stone.

I prefer pieces a little more recent.

I prefer pieces a little more recent.

And this painting is so huge it covered one wall. I had had no conception how truly huge the wedding at Cana really was before.

And this painting is so huge it covered one wall. I had had no conception how truly huge the wedding at Cana really was before.

I enjoyed the bear dentist so much I looked for a replica in the gift shop. No dice. There was another bear sculpture from this case, but not the dentist.

I enjoyed the bear dentist so much I looked for a replica in the gift shop. No dice. There was another bear sculpture from this case, but not the dentist.

Blaise Paschal

Blaise Paschal

My companions await me at another gallery entrance.

My companions await me at another gallery entrance.

I am glad I visited the Louvre. However, it is far from my favorite museum. It’s huge, but the lighting doesn’t show its paintings to their best effect, and for such an enormous place, there are not a lot of places to just sit and rest. It is exhausting, which detracts from all the art. Their collection of my favorites is pretty limited, too, but I include a Degas for your viewing pleasure.

Woman bathing. Beautiful colors. There was a winter Monet I particularly liked as well.

Woman bathing. Beautiful colors. There was a winter Monet I particularly liked as well.

I went home grateful to have not attempted this with a sick teen. Unfortunately, he wasn’t really any better upon our return, though not any worse. The result was another day without him, coming up.

4 Comments

Filed under Art, France

4 responses to “Paris: the Day of the Louvre

  1. Myriah

    Mom, that picture of me with the big rock is Hammurabi’s code, not the rosetta stone. Love the picture, though. I’m gonna put it on facebook.

    • 4pam

      Thanks for the correction! I’ll be sure to edit it. We just spent so long in search of RS I must have substituted it in my head.

  2. Great post! I agree with you, the Louvre wasn’t my favorite museum when I visited, either (Musee Rodin was way cooler). I loved, loved Arc de Triomphe! Thanks for the reminisce. 🙂

Share your thoughts.

