Filling the Spirit in Limoges

(And why, one wonders, is worshiping spelled with one ‘p,’ but shipping is spelled with two?)

But anyway, the end of March was blessed with a ladies’ retreat of the AECM community of churches, in French. I was privileged and delighted to be a part of this, and encouraged that I was able to participate and follow a significant percentage without the printed notes this time. It is wonderful to sing and worship with so many different Christian women from all parts of France.

Friends, some of whom I carpooled with.

Friends, some of whom I carpooled with.

Our group from the Toulouse area.

Our group from the Toulouse area.

Making a joyful noise to the Lord!

Making a joyful noise to the Lord!

Creating prayer calendars

Creating prayer calendars

Sunday lunch, after worshiping at the church in Limoge.

Sunday lunch, after worshiping at the church in Limoge.

Before returning to Toulouse, our carpool chose to make a visit to the ceramics museum. I get to add yet another museum to my list! I really need to make a page to collect my museum visits. I enjoy going back and remembering them.

The Museum of Limoges Porcelain, March 2014

The Museum of Limoges Porcelain, March 2014

My friend Dita in a porcelain sculpture outside the museum.

My friend Dita in a porcelain sculpture outside the museum.

The museum, decorated with enameling.

The museum, decorated with enameling.

Limoges is also known for its stained glass manufacture.

Limoges is also known for its stained glass manufacture.

More detail of the museum.

More detail of the museum.

One of many giant platters decorating the exterior wall.

One of many giant platters decorating the exterior wall.

You can see a few of my favorite displays here.

The inside of the museum  is also lovely.

The inside of the museum is also lovely.

Stained glass, in the porcelain museum.

Stained glass, in the porcelain museum.

An almost intaglio cameo appearance.

An almost intaglio cameo appearance.

The painting on this series was exquisitely nuanced.

The painting on this series was exquisitely nuanced.

Le chat regarde l'escargot. See, my French grows, however little.

Le chat regarde l’escargot. See, my French grows, however little.

This is merely the LID to an urn that stands taller than me.

This is merely the LID to an urn that stands taller than me.

I love this series!

I love this series!

The exhibit detailing medical uses of porcelain was very interesting.

The exhibit detailing medical uses of porcelain was very interesting.

A series of French soldiers.

A series of French soldiers.

The art of Limoge porcelain underwent a noticeable change after the Revolution.

The art of Limoge porcelain underwent a noticeable change after the Revolution.

An extraordinary pitcher.

An extraordinary pitcher.

There were many more, but I can only post a sampling. I was really tempted to get a piece of Marie Antoinette porcelain, but just couldn’t bring myself to pay that for some dessert plates. I may yet succumb, though!

Leave a comment

Filed under faith, France

Share your thoughts.

